Kogarah Art Prize

Kogarah Art Prize

Georges River Council is delighted to announce the winners of the 2016 Kogarah Art Prize as:

  • Kogarah Art Prize ($10,000): Vittoria Oriana Boundaries
  • Place of Reeds Prize for a Local Artist ($3,000 + solo exhibition): Sabrina Martins Loule Rodriguez mi hombre
  • Commended ($500): Steve Salo Romany Latham, Actor, Back to Back Theatre
  • Commended ($500): Yvonne Ferguson Relics
  • Packing Room Prize (Sponsored by Novotel Brighton Beach): Bronwen Bassett Clovelly Sea

The City of Kogarah Art Prize is an annual acquisitive prize for painting in any medium, with an open theme and prizes valued at $14,000.

This year's Kogarah Art Prize judge was Dr Gene Sherman AM. Dr Sherman is Chair and Executive Director of Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation (SCAF), a philanthropic organisation dedicated to exhibiting significant contemporary art from Australia, Asia-Pacific and the Middle East. For 21 years Dr Sherman was the Director of Sherman Galleries. As a gallerist, curator, academic and philanthropist, Dr Sherman has made a significant contribution to the Australian cultural landscape and it is an honour to have her judge this year’s Kogarah Art Prize. 

The 2016 Kogarah Art Prize Catalogue is available here and the Entry form and conditions outlines the criteria for judging.

Like us on Facebook.

Dr Gene Sherman AM, Credit Rita Zimmerman 

2016 Kogarah Art Prize Judge, Dr Gene Sherman AM, Photo: Rita Zimmerman

Kogarah Art Prize Exhibition

The Kogarah Art Prize Finalists’ Exhibition runs between Tuesday 7 June until Sunday 3 July.

For more information and to stay in touch, find the Kogarah Art Prize on Facebook. Please direct enquiries by email to artprize@kogarah.nsw.gov.au, or telephone (02) 9330 9580.

Previous Winners 

Previous winners and judges of the Kogarah Art Prize are:

  • Craig Handley – Judge John McDonald, SMH (2015)
  • Anh Do – Judge Anne Loxley, MCA (2014)
  • Virginia Coventry – Judge Aida Tomescu (2013)
  • David van Nunen – Judge Barry Pearce, AGNSW (2012)