Local Citizen of the Year

Local Citizen of the Year

Beverley Earnshaw

The Kogarah Citizen of the Year was announced recently during Council's 2016 Australia Day celebrations at Carss Bush Park. Mayor Cr Stephen Agius presented the recipient, Mrs Beverley Earnshaw with her award, acknowledging the important role she has played in local history studies.

'She is committed to preserving and promoting the history of the Kogarah people and area for younger and future generations and brings her skill as a professional historian to the task', said the Mayor.

He added, 'Mrs Earnshaw is the President of the Kogarah Historical Society and in this capacity, she is a tireless contributor to and advocate for the Kogarah Historical Society’s collection, administration and activities. Mrs Earnshaw has researched and published a number of important reference books about the history of Kogarah and the greater St George area which are valued for their accuracy and detail.
Her contributions to the Kogarah Historical Society are highly regarded by her fellow members and across the wider community, her tireless efforts to preserve and record the history of our local area are greatly appreciated'.

On behalf of the City of Kogarah, Cr Agius extended his congratulations to Mrs Earnshaw on her ongoing commitment and significant contributions to our local community.